About the Court

The Stow Municipal Court has jurisdiction over misdemeanor and traffic offenses committed within its geographical boundaries and civil cases in which the amount in controversy does not exceed $15,000. The Court handles about 20,000 cases per year.

Court Entrance 2The Court serves sixteen communities in northern Summit County including Boston Heights, Boston Township, Cuyahoga Falls, Hudson, Macedonia, Munroe Falls, Northfield, Northfield Center Township, Peninsula, Reminderville, Sagamore Hills, Silver Lake, Stow, Tallmadge, Twinsburg and Twinsburg Township.

In 2009, the new courthouse was opened at State Route 8 and Steels Corners Road. The central location gives citizens throughout the district easy access to the Court. The building is paid for using court fees, not taxpayer dollars.

Hours

Monday – Friday 8am-4:30pm

Waiverable payments can be made by phone at 855-341-8828 or online here.

2015 Holiday Schedule

Thursday January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday January 19 Martin Luther King Day
Monday February 16 Presidents’ Day
Monday May 25 Memorial Day
Friday July 3 Independence Day
Monday September 7 Labor Day
Wednesday November 11 Veterans’ Day
Thursday November 26 Thanksgiving
Friday November 27 Thanksgiving
Thursday December 24 Christmas Eve
Friday December 25 Christmas Day
Thursday December 31 New Year’s Eve
Friday January 1, 2016 New Year’s Day

Field Trips

The Court is pleased to provide school children from all over the jurisdiction with a chance to visit and participate in court activities. Please contact the Court Administrator for more information at 330-564-4174.

Problems

All Court personnel are available to answer your questions regarding court procedure, however Judges and Magistrates are prohibited from discussing your case with you outside of the courtroom and court personnel cannot give legal advice.

If you should have questions regarding procedure, please call the Bailiff of the Judge/Magistrate you last appeared before or to whom your case is assigned. If you have problems reaching the Bailiff, contact the Court Administrator at 330-564-4174.